Convert json to defstruct definition

I’m porting an application written in go to elixir. I’m just starting to learn elixir. In go it is easier to convert your data to structs to easily get properties from objects. I’d like to do the same in elixir. I’d like to convert a json payload to a set of defstructs. I see the docs on defstruct but I am wondering what developers do when the defstruct needed is too tedious to write. Are there any tools to convert a json payload to a defstruct definition?
I see the struct function but I would still need to write out the defstruct definition to make that function work. I am also using poison to convert the payload to a map but I’d like to use custom types instead.

1 Like

Why do you need it to be a struct? Can’t you use a map instead?

I do usually try to avoid to create struct-only modules, so unless you do not want to create related functions, using a plain map might be so much easier.

1 Like

I was looking at using guards with functions but doesn’t seem like I can use Map.get inside the guard.
I would like to create related functions as well. Can I not make related functions with structs?

1 Like

You can’t access maps (structs are just sugar over maps) in a guard, but you can match on them in the function head or in a case-clause or using the match operator.

I do not understand that question.

1 Like

If you’re saying that its easier to use map structures instead, I’m confused as to how one would try to reason about these maps and think in terms of concrete types. In order to create concrete types I’d have to create defstructs.

I do usually try to avoid to create struct-only modules, so unless you do not want to create related functions, using a plain map might be so much easier.

I didn’t quite understand this statement, which prompted my question. You mentioned not creating related functions. Under what conditions can I not make related functions?

I’ll look into the case syntax

1 Like