Creating a dice-roller in Elixir. D-10 and D-100 giving me fits.

I’m very new to programming, and elixir is my first language. If my verbage or vocabulary are slightly off, I appreciate your understanding.

The Scope:

I’m working on an RNG modeled on tabletop dice. A d2, d4, d6, d8, d10, d12, d20 and d100. These will be called by functions needing to draw from charts, and will hopefully be rolled direclty by users as needed. As such, I need the results to be consistant and usable.

The Problem:

Anything over d8 is giving me fits in its result. It produces random seeming letters or punctuation instead of a numerical result.

I understand this is an artifact of how elixir and erlang sort of… co-mingle numbers and letters. The details and specifics of that are still a bit beyond me, I confess. I solved this issue in one specific instance, by piping the result of a single d100 into an Enum.sum. This doesn’t work for multiple dice, and won’t work globally.

The Code
Dice Module:

defmodule Plotgenerator.Dice do

@moduledoc """

Dice Functions

The basic dice functions are very simple, but effective.

A function call for 'Dice.dX(Y)', where X is the sides on the die and Y is the number being rolled, will return a list of results. This works by feeding the sides and count argument to Dice.roll, which in turn, calls on the Dice.d(sides) function.

The Dice.dX functions can be bypassed by using roll directly and providing it with the sides and count arguments.

Additionally, a functioncall of Dice.dX() with no arguments, will cause a single result of the die-type to be generated and returned.
"""

# NOTE this format replicates the process for d2(count) and provides a count of 1 for a d2 function with no argument.
  def d2(), do: d2(1)

# NOTE this d2 command is the standard, providing a
  def d2(count) do
    roll(2, count)
  end