CRUD for an array of arrays of integers

Hi there. I need to enable CRUD for a PostgreSQL array column and am hoping someone can advise if the approach I have in mind is suitable, and if so help with how to go about it. I’m relatively new to non-trivial programming and Elixir and am struggling to see how to achieve it though I think it should be relatively simple for someone who’s used to parsing and modifying structured data.

Bacground

XML data like the following is accepted by the HTTP API:

<data>
  <SingleTemperatureOffset>
    <Temperature>10</Temperature>
    <Offset>0</Offset>
  </SingleTemperatureOffset>
  <SingleTemperatureOffset>
    <Temperature>100</Temperature>
    <Offset>10</Offset>
  </SingleTemperatureOffset>
</data>

The temperature offsets are stored in a PostgreSQL integer[] array column called offsets. Example value:

{{10,0},{100,10}}

There may be a varying number of inner arrays, and each should contain two integers.

The database table creation migration’s column:

add :offsets, {:array, :smallint}, [null: false]

The model’s schema field:

field :offsets, {:array, {:array, :integer}}

As of yesterday, the storage of the temperature offsets as above is working. (Yay!)

Enabling CRUD

I’m now trying to provide for creation and editing of such temperature offsets in the HTML admin area. (Other fields such as text and simple numbers are working fine.)

As part of the admin flow, API submissions such as the above are listed with a link to a “new” action/page (which saves a different but similar model) in which the form inputs’ values are populated with the submitted data. In the case of the offsets input, this results in, for example:

�d

In the new action in the controller:

IO.inspect(changeset.changes.offsets)
IO.inspect(changeset.changes.offsets, char_lists: :as_lists)

This shows:

[[10, 0], 'd\n']
[[10, 0], [100, 10]]