Deadlock between files

The context

I’m building my own library of code for dealing with ElasticSearch, using the Tirexs package. This is my first time heading deep into macros, dependencies, use, import and several other of the most advanced things Elixir offers.

For that I have define a Document struct which looks roughly like this, (/lib/data/document.ex)

defmodule Document do
  use Document.ORM
  import Document.Builder, only: [build_document: 2]
  import Document.Builder.Validations, only: [is_document_valid?: 1, collect_errors: 1]

defstruct [valid?: false, errors: nil, fields: %{}]

def something do
    # uses imported functions from Document.Builder and Documen.Builder.Validations
  end
end

The Document module then uses several other functions from the Document.ORM module which don’t seem to be the cause of the error.

The problem

My error is the following

Compilation failed because of a deadlock between files.
dataobj_1          | The following files depended on the following modules:
dataobj_1          | 
dataobj_1          |   web/controllers/document_controller.ex => Document
dataobj_1          |             lib/data/document/builder.ex => Document.Builder.AuxiliarBuilder
dataobj_1          |                     lib/data/document.ex => Document.Builder
dataobj_1          |      lib/data/document/orm/bulk/utils.ex => Document
dataobj_1          |    lib/data/document/builder/auxiliar.ex => Document

There’s a deadlock which I don’t know how to approach, I’m sure I’m doing something wrong.

The first dependency, the document_controller one occurs (I think) because it both refers to the module Document and the %Document struct in different places:

defmodule Data.DocumentController do
  use Data.Web, :controller

def create(conn, %{"document" => document_params}) do
      {:ok, doc} = document_params 
        |> Document.new
      case Document.save(doc) do
        {:ok, record} ->
          conn
          |> put_status(201)