Detecting abnormal application termination

Hi,

I’m an Elixir beginner and was wondering what the best way is to detect an abnormal termination of an OTP application (basically, when the top level supervisor crashes).

I already have a supervision tree setup and I can verify that its working as expected at the various levels by manually trigger errors (or disconnecting network cables).

The application runs on a headless Raspberry PI so I was hoping that I can set it up to send an email notification when the whole application is going down due to an error.

At the moment, I am sending notifications in the application’s start/stop callbacks which is not ideal.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

This depends a lot of how you actually start your application.

If it runs as a service/deamon on your OS, the underlying service/deamon manager might be able to notify on crashes or even restart your application automagically. You need to take a look in your systems documentation to learn if and how it is possible.

Another alternative might be the use of tools like M/Monit. Perhaps you might need to search for an alternative that runs on your system[1] by yourself.

[1] Raspberry PI running headless elixir can mean anything. Just to name a few: Raspbian, Windows IOT, Nerves, …

2 Likes

Thank you for the suggestions NobbZ. I’ve used monit before to monitor Ruby/Rails apps so I can definitely use that to start the application and restart it when it fails.

I’ll take a look at adding a monitor for the top supervisor and catch its DOWN message and see if I can get some useful error messages that way as well (a nice stacktrace would be ideal).

I am using Raspbian on that Raspberry PI2 and running the latest versions of Erlang and Elixir on there.

1 Like