Difference between pattern matching and equality operator?

Hi,
This is my first post with the forum. I just started learning Elixir this week. I’ve been going through Dave Thomas’ Elixir for Programmer’s Course. I found that I wasn’t grasping certain things (the title of this post being one of them). Dave mentions how powerful pattern matching can be, but I’m not sure I understand why… It seems that pattern matching is essentially and equality operator ( == ). Is it? If not, how are they different? What makes pattern matching so powerful compared to languages without it? Thanks in advance!

For one the equality operator has a boolean result - the result of a pattern match is the value that was successfully matched or a match error.

Furthermore a successful pattern match is capable of destructuring the matched value - essentially binding the matched destructured values to the specified names.

Have you looked at Pattern Matching yet?

Pattern matching is important for case expressions and multi-clause functions

Function declarations also support guards and multiple clauses.

Guards can be used to impose additional conditions on the pattern match.

Even anonymous functions can have multiple clauses.

Pattern matching is a conditional construct that can help to manage the Pyramid of Doom/Arrow Code (with/1 is also often used in that capacity).

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply! Your response has been very helpful!

I have looked over the documentation in regards to Pattern Matching as well as other resources. I suppose there is one thing that you said that isn’t quite clear to me yet (though it is becoming more clear). What do you mean (as well as the documentation) when you say destructure? Would you mind sharing an example?

Thanks again.

destructure is to pick out a piece of a data that you want from an existing data-structure such as a tuple, list or a map.

Lets create a map, and then bind ‘a’ to variable ‘x’ but only if ‘b’ == 2.