"Do you really need a database?"

I’m pretty new to Elixir. I’ve read some books, done a Udemy course, done some exercism and hackerrank problems and started on a Phoenix app.
I was a happy camper, but following the Elixir buzz on this forum, Elixir Fountain and other places I started getting the feeling that the “1.2 way” of doing Phoenix apps was kinda frowned upon by some people.
So I stopped development on my Phoenix app and read a bit more about OTP, watched Chris presentation of Phoenix 1.3 a bunch of times, bought and started reading Lance’s new prag prog book and tried to apply those thoughts and ideas to my app.

Now i bassically feel like a poor noob that is getting told that

“You probably don’t need a database”

But I really can’t see how anything else but a live session kinda thing like a game or a chat could work without persisting data in a database.

Am I misunderstanding this totally? Are there any other poor noobs out there that are getting the same vibe?

6 Likes

Well, it really depends on what you are doing. There’s no one size fits all solution here. That said, I reckon most web apps do use, and do need, at least one database.

With regard to phoenix, there are certainly some new ‘best practices’ in 1.3 but they don’t concern whether you should use a db or not.

1 Like

Well, most of this thoughts about not needing a database assume a basic thing: You never shut down your application.

If this is a fact and you can guarantee that it will never shutdown, then leave DBs completely.

But since you can’t guarantee zero downtime, you have to persist your data somehow.

To persist your data and getting it back into your live system, you have a couple of options:

• Put them into a databse of any kind (SQL or not doesn’t matter) and reload it when necessary
  • Log changes of the system into a file. On restart load that file and “replay”
  • Combine both ways.
  • probably others