Eager vs Lazy Loading? (Elixir getting started guide)

In the Enumerable chapter of the Elixir getting started guide there is a section called Lazy vs Eager. However, it never explains what Lazy or Eager means in the Elixir context.

There is an external mini-explanation on educative.io:

Enum, being eager, produces a whole list of numbers after each operation in the script until the result is reached. Conversely, Stream, being lazy, creates a stream that represents a function without executing it straight away.

A better explanation with the trade-offs, common use cases, and links to further resources would be nice to include in the guide.

3 Likes

I don’t know about links and I am not a computer scientist by education but as a seasoned programmer I can offer you the following explanations.

— Eager loading —

Everything gets loaded in memory right away. Example 1:

"~/Downloads/countries.json"
|> File.read!()
|> CSV.parse_string()
|> do_stuff_with_records()

File.read! loads the entire file into a single binary (string) and then passes it to CSV.parse_string which also works with an entire binary. That’s eager loading – everything is there to be used in one go.

Example 2:

list_of_1000_elements
|> Enum.map(& &1 * 3)
|> Enum.map(& &1 / 7)
|> Enum.filter(& &1 / 2 == 0)

Here you don’t just work with one list of 1000 elements; you work with four of them in total since each Enum.map or Enum.filter produces a new list that’s also loaded entirely in memory. Meaning the memory for all four lists will be allocated and used until they are thrown away.

Something like 95% of the time you don’t care and it’s fine. But every now and then this is an awful idea because you don’t know beforehand how many records do you have to process in advance. Which brings us to…

— Lazy loading —

Stuff that you work with gets loaded in memory in chunks / batches. You never load the entire thing in memory.

Let’s take the Example 1 from above and turn it into lazy-loading code.