Ecto has_many :on_delete protect

Hi awesome people,

I have a User and Role table. Each role has many users.

Here is the table structure in ecto migration file.

create table(:business_user, primary_key: false) do
      add :business_id, references(:businesses, on_delete: :delete_all), null: false
      add :user_id, references(:users, on_delete: :delete_all), null: false
      add :role_id, references(:role, on_delete: :delete_all), null: false

timestamps()
    end

I know on_delete: :delete_all) will delete all related business_users if the role is deleted. But how to i protect this role from accidentally deleted?

Because i came from Django, it has on_delete=PROTECT to protect the role from deleted and error raised. I am new to ECTO, i not sure if there is anything I am missing here :slight_smile:

I don’t think that django on_delete=Protect would protect the roles. It prevents referenced objects from being deleted.

Isn’t django PROTECT an equivalent of SQL RESTRICT?

It’s been a while since I used django, but if so, on_delete: :restrict should do what you want.

1 Like

For you case, you should use on_delete: :restrict or on_delete: :nothing.

Why?

In short, read h Ecto.Migration.references.

In detail:

• :on_delete option specifies the behavior of referencing rows when a referenced row is deleted.
  • When you call add :role_id, references(:role, on_delete: :delete_all), null: false, we say that business_user references role:
    • rows in business_user are the referencing rows.
    • rows in role are the referenced rows.
  • :on_delete has 4 possible values:
    • :delete_all
      • PostgreSQL clause: ON DELETE CASCADE
      • description: The referencing rows will be deleted.
    • :nilify_all
      • PostgreSQL clause: ON DELETE SET NULL
      • description: The foreign key of referencing rows will be set as NULL.
    • :restrict
      • PostgreSQL clause: ON DELETE RESTRICT
      • description: Prevent deletion of a referenced row.