Ecto: how to insert into a Schema with one field being a subquery

Hey everyone, just joined this forum. I’m new to Elixir and have been working on a side project to learn it. Happy to be here.

I have a question related to Ecto, and I’m not sure if what I’m trying to do makes sense.

I want to insert rows in a SQL table from an Ecto.Changeset that will contain some fields provided by the user, and I want one of the fields not to be provided by the user, but to be the result of a query instead.

Some Background

I’m writing a Phoenix application. It has a SQL database (I’m using SQLite), and there are two related Schemas: a “Parent” has_many “Children” (so “Child” belongs_to “Parent”, it has a parent_id FK).

I want the children table to have a column named parent_scoped_row_id, which would store the row number of that child scoped by parent_id. Here’s an example of what I mean:

id parent_id inserted_on parent_scoped_row_id
1 1 2023-12-01 1
2 1 2023-12-02 2
3 1 2023-12-03 3
4 2 2023-12-01 1
5 2 2023-12-02 2
6 3 2023-12-01 1

I want parent_scoped_row_id to not be provided by users, but auto-generated instead.

SQL solution

The following works on SQLite:

create table parents(id primary key);
create table children(
  id primary key,
  parent_id integer not null constraint "child_parent_fk" references parents(id),
  inserted_on text,
  parent_scoped_row_id integer
);
insert into parents values (1), (2), (3);
insert into children values (
  "2023-12-01",
  (select 1 + coalesce(max(parent_scoped_row_id), 0) from children where parent_id = 1)
);
insert into children values (
  "2023-12-01",
  (select 1 + coalesce(max(parent_scoped_row_id), 0) from children where parent_id = 2)
);
-- and so on...

Problem is: how can I reproduce it with Ecto?

What I’ve tried

# child.ex
defmodule Myapp.Example.Child do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

alias Myapp.Example.Parent

schema "children" do
    field :inserted_on, :date
    field :parent_scoped_row_id, :integer