Ecto migrations on Google Cloud

Hi, I’m relatively new to Elixir and Phoenix but I wanted to deploy a very simple app on Google Cloud App Engine Flexible (works on localhost). The problem is that the deployment pipeline of elixir-runtime does not include any ecto.migrate routine, and once the app is deployed there is no access to any mix utility.

I tried to include this task in the pipeline but then it doesn’t have access to the database, here is my app.yaml:

env: flex

runtime: gs://elixir-runtime/elixir.yaml
runtime_config:
  release_app: my_project
  build:
      - mix phx.digest
      - mix ecto.migrate

env_variables:
  DB_USER: postgres
  DB_PASS: my_password
  DB_NAME: my_project
  DB_HOST: /cloudsql/my_project:europe-west1:my_project-sql

beta_settings:
  cloud_sql_instances: my_project:europe-west1:my_project-sql 

As I was not able to find any clue on the Internet, you are my last hope! :sunny:

EDIT: Allowing any IP address to connect to the database (as bad as it is) doesn’t work either as the builder container does not seem to have access to that network.

1 Like

As i see there is no elixir in machines. You can try install to machines to elixir. But i think wont persist.

@kokolegorille told production machines dont need elixir, erlang, phoenix. I dont know why but he can explain better than me.

Because when You produce a release everything is included inside. You don’t need to install anything but the binary :slight_smile: … and the database, if hosted on the server, … and maybe a reverse proxy, like nginx.

1 Like

For the question, I may hardly answer because I never used Google Cloud, but to me the release Repo should be configured with the config/prod_secret.exs file.

This should grant access to the database…

There should be an equivalent inside this config/prod_secret.exs of

env_variables:
DB_USER: postgres
DB_PASS: my_password
DB_NAME: my_project
DB_HOST: /cloudsql/my_project:europe-west1:my_project-sql