Ecto.Schema and Access behaviour

Hey everyone, coming from Rails and new to Elixir, so bear with me as I’m still learning.

I’m currently writing tests and as I want them to run fast, I’m going to skip the database if possible. So instead of updating associations and reloading them to have the data available in the tests, I want to do something like this

user |> put_in(["integrations", "state"], "deleted") # this marks the integration as deleted

but this blows up with: User does not implement the Access behaviour Both User and Integration are Ecto schemas.

Am I doing something wrong? Why isn’t the Access behaviour implemented for Ecto.Schema's?

2 Likes

You cannot use put_in like that as structs (which the schemas are) don’t support Access behaviour. So you need to use Access.key! for example:

user |> put_in([Access.key!(:integrations), Access.key!(:state)], "deleted")

or you can nest the map update syntax:

%{put_in | integrations: %{put_in.integrations | state: "deleted"}}

I assumed in both your keys are actually atoms like they are usually in schemas.

4 Likes

If you really need it, maybe you can implement this behaviour yourself by using either Map.from_struct or some metaprogramming (it’s just 4 callbacks).

defmodule User do
  @behaviour Access

# ... schema and stuff

# Access callbacks the easy way
  def fetch(term, key) do
    term
    |> Map.from_struct()
    |> Map.fetch(key)
  end

def get(term, key, default) do
    term
    |> Map.from_struct()
    |> Map.get(key, default)
  end

def get_and_update(data, key, function) do
    data
    |> Map.from_struct()
    |> Map.get_and_update(key, function)
  end

def pop(data, key) do
    data
    |> Map.from_struct()
    |> Map.pop(key)
  end
end

You might also want to read this

But in ecto the schema structs usually represent rows in a table, and modifications to these rows are then done via changesets. So your example can be probably expressed via them.