Efficient way to handle asynchronous two-way messaging across data centers?

I have a very particular use-case. I originally went completely off-track and assumed Kubernetes and/or BEAM were built for this kind of communication. I have since grown out of the naivety of my approach. Kube is not built for it, though it does offer federation for multi-cluster setups across data centers.

I then found:

http://learnyousomeerlang.com/distribunomicon

Which goes into a whole heap of reasons why I don’t want to attempt this with BEAM.

So here I am, wondering just what tools I have at my fingertips, and I’m hoping somebody can point me in the right direction. I’m new to Elixir/BEAM and so don’t fully understand what is advisable or not, or what is on offer.

the problem

Essentially, what I want to do is, as efficiently as possible, send a request from one server to a specific server (in a particular location), have that perform some operation and return me a result.

My current application runs through thousands of these ‘requests’ using Task.async_stream and Stream.chunk (to perform db queries in batches). As I say, I originally figured I would just fire up a cross data center Erlang cluster, use Node.connect and send messages to relevant applications. This now seems incredibly naive after reading the above material.

My second pass at this is to use an internal api… very simply each of my applications/workers will have an exposed api that I then use to send workloads to, which then perform and return a response.

Does this sound sensible?Just wanted to sanity check this here before I waste another two weeks designing something I don’t need.

I say two-way messaging in the title because I’m wondering if there is an even better way of getting data to/from my nodes that I’m perhaps missing (message queues/passing/rpc etc).

3 Likes