Elixir Engineers @ Tinfoil Security

Hey Elixir Forum!

I’m an engineer at Tinfoil Security. We’re a small team of < 15 people who write automated security analysis tools. A lot of our codebase is in Elixir (though we still have a lot of Ruby), and we’re hoping to hire at least one or two engineers by early 2017. I’ve copied our big formal job posting below, but feel free to ask me any specific questions here, and I’d be happy to help!

If you’re interested, either ping me on here, or reach out at shane@tinfoilsecurity.com

At Tinfoil Security we’re working to make the internet a more secure place. We write tools that are used to secure the largest web applications in the world. If you’ve ever watched a video or streamed music online, your data has probably been secured by code we’ve written. To date, our software has found and fixed over one million security vulnerabilities in the web.

You’ll work on anything from distributed systems to static analysis or information architecture. This means building things that have never been built before: you’ll need to quickly learn new concepts and apply them to your work. We value speed, but we value stability more. We also do a lot of web development, but we spend most of our time working to automate web application and web API security assessments.

Our software stack is primarily Elixir, Ruby, and Go, but we’re advocates of choosing the best tool for the job. If something like Elm is going to help you solve a problem more effectively then we want you to convince us of that.

Qualifications

• A drive to learn and push your limits
  • An interest in security and an appreciation for privacy
  • Passion. We don’t care in what, but we want you to make us excited about something you care about
  • A pride in your work. We treat our work as a craft, and aren’t done with a new feature until we’re proud of it

Bonus Points:
Experience in:

• Elixir or Erlang
  • Ruby or Ruby on Rails
  • Javascript, Coffeescript, etc