Elixir/Erlang Applications with Docker in production?

I would like to know what are the strong reasons to go or not to go with the Docker with Elixir/Erlang Application in Production.This is the first time I am asked for starting with the Docker in production.I worked on the production without Docker.I am an Erlang/Elixir Developer.I worked on the high traffic productions servers with millions of transactions per second which are running without Docker.I spent one day for creating and running a Elixir Application image with lots of issues with the network.I had to do lots of configurations for DNS setup etc.After that I started thinking What are the strong reasons for proceeding further.Are there any strong reasons to go or not to go with the Docker with Elixir/Erlang Applications in production.

I went through some of the reasons in the forums but still It am not convinced.All the advantages that docker is providing is already there in the Erlang VM. Could any Erlang Expert in the form please help me.

1 Like

Well for me it is easy to keep it separate from the main OS so it can easily be migrated around without needing to setup erlang and such all over the place, it is a ‘container’. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Re-using my own previous answer to this sort of question with minimal changes:

The strongest case in my eyes for containerizing your BEAM apps is if you must integrate gracefully into a larger ecosystem containing multiple other languages, runtimes, etc. within your org. If you are already deploying other code with Docker, it’s probably a foregone conclusion that your BEAM projects would too. If you are greenfield BEAM languages all the way, it’d be harder to make a strong case for Docker, rkt, etc.