"Elixir for Good" community?

Hello folks,

I’m a novice member of the Elixir community and a novice programmer more generally, and for some time now I’ve been thinking of helping to establish an online community around “Elixir for Good”, modelled closely on Ruby for Good. I ran this basic idea past José, and he agreed that this forum was a good place to kick the idea around a bit…

I would like to make a golden bridge between the Ruby for Good and Elixir for Good communities, which I think could be great for Elixir adoption also. Anyhow, I have no clear idea on how to proceed with any of the above, or whether there’s much interest in such a thing among the Elixir community at present, but I think it warrants some form of brainstorm.

I have purchased the elixirforgood.org domain with a 1 year renewal, and will be happy to transfer this at no cost to any suitable not-for-profit structure (such as the Erlang Ecosystem Foundation or similar) so that it can be held and governed as a community resource into the future.

At this stage, I invite your thoughts and comments…

Regards,
Ken Turner.

22 Likes

I tried to understand what Ruby for Good is, but failed. Could you please provide a short description of how it works.

• do they take money from the non-profits?
  • is there a paid core-team?
  • the volunteers are not paid I assume?
  • essentially as a volunteer I work on open-source projects and do some good but on the other hand can’t do exactly the project I want (but then again have a higher chance that what I do is useful for someone)
2 Likes

Hi Sebb,

While I’m not sure of many of the finer details of how Ruby for Good is structured and operates (and I suspect that there’s some room to tweak things), I can point towards an episode of the “Ruby Rogues” podcast featuring an interview with Sean Marcia, who organises Ruby for Good:
https://devchat.tv/ruby-rogues/rr-456-ruby-for-good-with-sean-marcia/

Thanks,
Ken.

I don’t have the time to watch a 50min interview.