Elixir for teaching programming

Hello, I will start soon to teach programming basics to a friend who’s is totally new to the subject. I’d really like to use Elixir as her first ever programming language. Would you make the same choice? Or do you think I’d better go with something more mainstream and object oriented like python, ruby, or even javascript (and staying away from all its quicks). I feel FP far more intuitive and natural (but that’s the way my brain works) so Elixir would be my obvious first choice. what do you think about it? Are there any drawbacks I’m not considering? Thank you for your valuable opinions.

7 Likes

I am also a beginner at programming with some basic experience in JS and was going to ask whether learning Elixir as a first language is a good idea. IMO FP is also more intuitive and from what I read might be easier to learn if you have no prior experience in OO.

3 Likes

Hello Alice, did you start studying Elixir already? If so, how your prior experience with Js has influenced your Elixir learning? Was it helpful or you find it somehow misleading due to the differences in data mutability and the usage of imperative constructs like i.e. for-loops? Thank you for your contribution!

1 Like