Elixir from NodeJS - is it right for me?

Hey everyone!

I am a nodejs dev, and have a gameserver (utilizing Websockets) that is currently sitting around 20k lines of code. Our game is developed in JavaScript and it’s basically my main language. I love it. The problem is as you know, since Nodejs is single threaded, we are having to spin up multiple instances of node. And then ontop of that, since we cannot share memory between processes, we also need to use Redis. Not saying that’s a bad thing, and it works fine, but I just feel like we’re not taking advantage of a server’s full potential (it’s hard to explain).

However, I’ve gotten to the point now, since our game is instanced based and I want players to be on the same instance as a game that they created… Nodejs is really becoming a pain in the ass. I heard elixir handles all the “single threaded issues” that nodejs has for you and utilizes your entire server regardless of how many cores you have. Is that true? And do you think moving over elixir would be beneficial? I know I would have to do some code conversion and it will take a while… I am also curious if elixir would be fine running under debian as that is our main server OS.

I am already reading the docs now and the syntax is a bit different from JavaScript (and I mean really different) – but, it’s not that bad and I am actually starting to like it. Thanks for reading and looking forward to the responses!

12 Likes

Yes, because in Elixir data is immutable, and no state is shared between processes, it is possible to have true concurrency without deadlocks.

Other things Elixir will do for you:

• You’ll probably not need Redis, as there are many solutions for data storage (both persistent and ephemeral) that work inside your Elixir application.