Elixir getting started - Creating File

Hello, im new to elixir and new to linux(using ubuntu 14.04 now), started this week. Im following this http://elixir-lang.org/getting-started/modules.html i feel like is a fool question but how i create a file? or where i have tu put? i created one with sublime text 2 but can’t compile in the terminal. Also if you have any advices of learning, would be great! .Thx.

1 Like

I found that reading this part of the guide and then using mix to create a new project was helpful.

1 Like

To give you the best help on this we need to know how exactly you created that file using sublime and how you tried to compile it. Both including full path of where saved and where run the commands to compile.

2 Likes

You can simply save files with the .ex or .exs extension.

.exs is scripted mode, and does not need to be compiled - have a look here in the guide.

I write on sublime(have elixir bundle) and save it like .exs in documents, the open terminal and put: $ elixir math.exs . No file named appears, so i think i have to put in another path but dont know where.

I will read that, thx.

Then you’ll have to check where sublime saved the file on disk, open a terminal cd to that path and try elixir command again. If this sentence means nothing to you, you should start out with a Linux tutorial. I don’t have on at hand, I was guided through my first Linux steps 20 years ago, long before we had internet at home by a friend of my father. Before that I’ve grown up with DOS so some concepts were already known to me.

2 Likes

Are you on OS X? If so open a terminal window and enter cd desktop which will take you to the desktop, then make sure your file is on the desktop, then simply use the command to run the file, e.g. elixir my_file.exs.

Nope, he isn’t :wink: According to the starting post he uses Ubuntu 14.04 LTS and is new to linux and elixir as well.

1 Like

Ah right sorry :lol: