Elixir/Phoenix with Oracle (database)?

Hi there, I know this might not be the post Im looking for, but looks like you have enough experience to answer this I believe. It is posible to work with Elixir/Phoenix with Oracle Database? I believe No its gonna be the answer… but Im new to answer that yet.

//@nubunto

2 Likes

What you are looking for is Oracle database adapter for Ecto, most likely. I do not believe you will find working one. The effort to develop one was started couple of times but looks abandoned.

You probably need to fall back to Erlang’s ODBC driver, that allows you to use native driver to be interfaced and connected to Oracle database. Something like this:

But please note, by doing so you will need to work with raw SQL queries, and not so nicely structured replies. You won’t be able to use Ecto’s changesets etc.

2 Likes

I was hoping to create a ServerSide Webpage using Phoenix and Oracle Database for my final Database project, I really want to impress my teacher with Phoenix but it looks like a bit hard to do, still Im gonna try the tutorial from that link you shared. Thanks for your time Huber, I love how fast someone answered my question.

3 Likes

You could also look at creating a custom Ecto adapter.

This blog post by @michalmuskala is a good place to start: http://michal.muskala.eu/2015/07/07/creating-ecto-adapters.html

Creating adapters for Ecto is really easy. The documentation is great (as in all core projects in Elixir), there are many helpful people, and the APIs you have to implement are straightforward and clear. It’s even easier if you want to create an adapter for a SQL database, as there is already a generic SQL adapter implementing a lot of common behaviour for you.

2 Likes

Thanks, this might be my start point.

2 Likes