Elixir research projects?

Hi everyone!

I’m currently doing a masters in computer science at Cambridge University and one of the courses that I’m currently enrolled in allows me to pick a {programming language, compilers, interpreter}-related research project that I could get finished in ~1-2 months, part-time.

Being an Elixir enthusiast I decided to come here and ask whether the Elixir community has any potentially interested research projects that I could carry out, for example within the realm of performance improvements or stdlib improvements?

Regards,

Hrafn

2 Likes

Check the LASP project. Some pretty interesting stuff.

2 Likes

Hey there. This may be too far from your aim, but I thought I’d throw it out there. It’s the combination of two technologies, GraphQL and property testing.

GraphQL

I’m one of the authors of the Elixir GraphQL implementation Absinthe: http://absinthe-graphql.org/

GraphQL brings strong typing to your API for both its inputs and outputs. The basic idea is that you have a schema that describes a Graph of the entities and types in your system. So for example you might have a string scalar type, and a user object type. A user is related to the string type via its name, which forms an edge from the user node to the string node. A user node could also have a friends edge which just loops back to the user node.

GraphQL queries are a declarative document that forms a tree starting at some point on the graph and working its way out along the edges as far as is desired. So for example in our hypothetical graph we could start at the user and do

#assume we're at the user here
{
  name
  friends  {
    name
  }
}

Property Testing

property :square do
    for_all x in int, do: x * x >= 0
  end