Elixir vs. Java, Ruby, and PHP - Seeking case studies or an interview with a community member

Hello,

Please pardon me for any faux paux. I am 46 and this is my first time on a forum of any kind. I wanted to to get answers from those in the know.

I am a new business analyst and delivery manager, researching Elixir - Phoenix. I came accross this language, commissioning the work for my startup out to a developer who suggested this technology. I saw many comparisons between Ruby and Elixir but not so much for the other languages (Java and PHP). I have already reached out to several authors and developers but with no luck.

Specifically, I wanted to build a matrix illustrating when I would choose Elixir over or stay with Java, PHP, and Ruby. I am looking for an answer in the form of situational examples or specific criteria. Case studies would be a real plus. Any help would be appreciated. I will cite you as a source in my prose as well as link to your site.

Thank you,

Alex.

3 Likes

There’s a quite recent story about migrating from PHP to Elixir which might interest you: http://engineering.teacherspayteachers.com/2017/06/05/challenges-faced-while-scaling-to-serve-millions-of-views-per-day.html

2 Likes

Hi @restack_oslo

I will explain some things i learnt from Elixir. This is what i know i what i know can be wrong.

To answer your question first i need to remind you Elixir will compile to Erlang VM (AKA BEAM) Bytecode, So we can say it’s same as Erlang in runtime.

Upsides

• First of all Erlang is super robust. I heard there are telecom switches running Erlang non stop for 20+ years. Thats interesting.

• Elixir/Erlang use immutable data structure, means it’s less likely going to suffer from concurrency issues. these issues can happen a lot on Object Oriented languages like Java.