Elixir vs Unix named pipe

Hi,

I’m rather new to Elixir. To cut my teeth, I’d like to write into a UNIX named pipe (created via mkfifo command).

When I try to open it to read or write, I got this:

ook@pity:~/work/light$ mkfifo -m a=rw a_named_pipe
ook@pity:~/work/light$ ls -l a_named_pipe
prw-rw-rw- 1 ook ook 0 juil. 19 17:56 a_named_pipe
ook@pity:~/work/light$ iex
Erlang/OTP 18 [erts-7.1] [source] [async-threads:10] [kernel-poll:false]

Interactive Elixir (1.3.0) - press Ctrl+C to exit (type h() ENTER for help)
iex(1)> {:ok, file} = File.open "a_named_pipe", [:write]
** (MatchError) no match of right hand side value: {:error, :eisdir}

Does that mean Elixir don’t know how to talk with a named pipe? I didn’t find any dedicated section for named pipe, and “pipe” is not really easy to search around Elixir :wink:

Thanks for any suggestion.

1 Like

I vaguely recall digging into this at one point and if I recall correctly the underlying Erlang libraries basically restrict File.open to only “standard” unix files. The error gets reported
as :eisdir, when it is actually :eisnotanordinary file. I ran into this problem in attempting to
open /dev/random.

My understanding for this reasoning is that opening anything other than a standard file potentially exposes the BEAM scheduler to delays that would break the VM.

3 Likes

I think the way forward with this is to use the Port facility, but I admit I pretty much gave up on it
at that point. This blog post has more details.

1 Like

Thanks a lot bbense! It makes sense for BEAM scheduler. Will have a look into your link.

1 Like

I’d recommend not using named_pipes but rather a TCP tunnel if possible.

However 1) See rational why no named pipes / devices / etc… at: http://erlang.org/faq/problems.html#idp32909136

However 2) I ran across this that someone did that redirects via a shell script to let you do it via a port: https://gist.github.com/jaredmorrow/1c342c6e9156eddd20b2

3 Likes