Emacs + alchemist - run iex -S mix phoenix.server?

Hey, I’m pretty new to emacs (have only used it a bit while reading Clojure for the brave and true). I installed the alchemist package, now by what I understand I should be able to run a repl from inside emacs itself without having to open a terminal window right? and probably start it with iex -S mix phoenix.server ?

Whenever I do M-x alchemist-iex-project-run I get /usr/local/Cellar/elixir/1.5.0/bin/elixir: line 127: exec: erl: not found

Process Alchemist-IEx exited abnormally with code 127

Does anyone know a good resource on how to setup emacs for this? Or should I just fire a terminal and do it normally while editing in emacs? Thanks

Hmmm, are you using a versioning environment like kerl or kiex?

Not really, should I set that up?

No need to. They can cause problems with the path though - which is why I asked :slight_smile:

I found this Stack Overflow answer from someone with the same problem: Elixir on Emacs: exec erl not found.

Another way to get a shell in emacs is to use M-x ansi-term RET RET, but it will probably have the same problem :stuck_out_tongue:

How do you start emacs? From a terminal or from your window manager?

If the latter, does the path it knows point to erl location?

Also if you used the latter, does the problem also exist when you start wands from a terminal that can “see” erl?

1 Like

Thanks I will check that out! When I open the emacs gui from the terminal it doesn’t show the previous error but shows another one from compilation.

Ah I was starting it from the window manager ( and I guess it doesn’t because I haven’t told it ) . Indeed when I open the emacs gui from the terminal it does !!! huuuu how do I tell him what’s the erl location? Or what is the best way to spin emacs? Right now I added it to the mac login, so it’s started by default but this points to the “app” without context - how do you start your emacs session? Thanks!