Emacs like text editor in Elixir

I’ve been using Emacs as my main code editor for more than a two years. It’s a custom build version although I’ve tried doom emacs and spacemacs for some time.

Previously I used VS Code, Idea, Sublime, Vim, Notepad++ (10 years ago) and I maybe something else which I forgot.

I’ve been playing with idea about writing some bare-bones editor which runs as mix application where you just clone the repository and can extend it as you wish by writing different OTP modules.

Recently, I discovered GitHub - ndreynolds/ratatouille: A TUI (terminal UI) kit for Elixir library with a simple DSL to write console applications and decided to give my idea a go.

It’s still an early stage and more like proof of concept but here it is: GitHub - achempion/alice, I hope to reach stage when it starts to be usable for simple edits.

In order to make consistent progress I decided to also try streaming development and all the issues I’m trying to figure out on twitch channel Twitch, for this year I want to stream each day at CET 8 p.m for an hour or so, would appreciate any feedback.

10 Likes

Cool project @achempion

This reminds me of this talk I’ve watched recently:

I was just thinking about it this week.

BTW: Just out of curiosity, have you benchmarked your editor against other editors? I’d love to know how viable is to create a full-fledge text editor in elixir.

2 Likes

Awesome, thanks a lot for the link, very interesting talk. Editor link from a talk doesn’t work though :smile:.

Just out of curiosity, have you benchmarked your editor against other editors?

I’d love to, but it’s still early stages where I’m trying to figure out all the boring stuff first, like how to trigger recompilation without restarting the editor, where to redirect logs, some sane DSL to write modules/extensions.

The end goal is having Emacs like operating system text editor written in Elixir which can be extended using Elixir language as well.

2 Likes