Emit LiveComponent event to both the LiveComponent as well as its parent LiveView

Hello fellow Elixters :wave:

I am quite new to Phoenix LiveView and just started testing Surface UI. So far, it all feels very natural and well-designed. So kudos to everyone involved in building it! :slight_smile:

Now I got stuck with something I expect to be a fairly easy and common problem.

Situation

I have a LiveView with a nested LiveComponent. For the sake if this example, let’s say the LiveComponent renders a card which should be highlighted when selected (clicked). The LiveComponent should therefore emit an event when clicked. This event should be handled both in the LiveComponent to toggle the highlighting as well as optionally within the LiveView to, say, track which cards are selected.

First of all: Does it at least make sense what I am trying to do? :slight_smile:

Second: Currently I see two possible ways to implement it:

1. Emit the event with the LiveComponent as its target (i.e., phx-target={@myself} in plain LiveView, or on-click="my-click-event" in Surface UI). Then inside handle_event/3 toggle the card highlight, forward the event with send(self(), ...) to the LiveView and, in there, handle it in handle_info/2. This works, but has the drawback that the LiveComponent’s parent must handle the message with handle_info/2 unless it wants its mailbox to fill up. Moreover, it would feel so much more natural if I handle the message from LiveComponent in the LiveView’s handle_event/3 as well.