Error deploying to production server

Hey folks! Total noob to all things phoenix and elixir. I have inherited a project that runs fine locally and I am trying to get it to run on a production server. I am following this tutorial from Digital Ocean: How To Automate Elixir-Phoenix Deployment with Distillery and edeliver on Ubuntu 16.04 | DigitalOcean. Everything runs fine until the command mix edeliver start production where I get the error:

-----> starting production servers

production node:

user    : deployer
  host    : myapp
  path    : /home/deployer/app_release
  response: init terminating in do_boot ({cannot get bootfile,no_dot_erlang.boot})

Crash dump is being written to: erl_crash.dump...done
init terminating in do_boot ({cannot get bootfile,no_dot_erlang.boot})

init terminating in do_boot ({cannot get bootfile,no_dot_erlang.boot})

START DONE!

My first question is, is it OK that I am doing with from a MAC dev environment, and could that be the reason I am getting this error? I only ask b/c the DO article says it should be done from an Ubuntu-based environment.

Next, I found this topic:

ā€¦which looks similar to mine. I updated to distillery locally, but am still getting the same error. That topic mentions patching distillery, but Iā€™m not exactly sure how to do that. Where does it live, and can I just upgrade or downgrade so this works?

Any help appreciated.

The error message indicates a version mismatch of the Erlang version used for compilation and that used to run. Usually the compiler version is newer than the runtime version.

Iā€™d check that first. If both versions are the same, you should try to use an Ubuntu VM that is a mostly exact clone of the target host.

1 Like

Good call Nobbz. Indeed I have 10.0.1 locally and 10.0.0 on the server. Just spent an hour trying to uninstall and/or update the production server and everything is a mess now. I guess I will blow that server away and try rebuilding it from scratch.

Thanks!