Error when importing CSV with Explorer.DataFrame.from_csv! possibly related to dtype

Hello,

I’m an elixir beginner, exploring livebook. I’m running a local notebook on a linux machine. Initially I tried to import a CSV file with Explorer like so:

alias Explorer.{DataFrame, Series}
path_to_csv = "./some_file.csv"
DataFrame.from_csv!(path_to_csv)

However, I am seeing the following error:

** (RuntimeError) from_csv failed: {:polars, "Could not parse `Fee Amount` 
    as dtype Int64 at column 16.\nThe current offset in the file is 249 bytes.\n\n
    Consider specifying the correct dtype, increasing\n
    the number of records used to infer the schema,\n
    enabling the `ignore_errors` flag, or adding\n`Fee Amount` to the `null_values` list."}
    (explorer 0.5.5) lib/explorer/data_frame.ex:438: Explorer.DataFrame.from_csv!/2

To check if the problem was indeed with the data in the column Fee Amount, I filled the column with integers. But I get the same error. What can I try to better diagnose this problem?

Hi @alphydan welcome! Are you able to provide a sample of that CSV file?

1 Like

https://hexdocs.pm/explorer/Explorer.DataFrame.html#from_csv/2

You can use :dtype to explicitly set the data type for a column instead of letting it try to infer it.

One small thing that jumps out:

Could not parse Fee Amount as dtype Int64 at column 16.
The current offset in the file is 249 bytes.

This sounds like it’s on at least the second line of the file, and so should be data

That’s a reference to the with_null_values setting in polars_io::csv::CsvReader, which is intended to parse values like "n/a" to null.

The message suggests that the reader found the literal string “Fee Amount” where it expected data.

:thinking: what was a header-shaped value like “Fee Amount” doing on the second line of a CSV?

1 Like

@BradS2S @benwilson512 @al2o3cr Thank you for all your suggestions. “Fee Amount” was not on the second line, but on the header (first row).