Exploring Opportunities for Elixir Developers with Non-US Residency

As an experienced Elixir developer with two years of expertise in Elixir, Phoenix, and LiveView, I have been actively searching for job opportunities on various platforms, including the Elixir forum. However, as a non-US resident, I have noticed a limited number of job options available for developers like me. I would like to start a discussion with the Elixir community to explore possible solutions for non-US residents to access more job opportunities in the field.

1 Like

Sadly there are not many opportunities for elixir jobs in general and now with crisis in europe, it is even worse, there are a lot of discussions on forum about this and it seems that this problem was persistent from long ago.

1 Like

I’m also on that boat as someone with 3 years of Elixir experience who had to find a job in another stack. I’m already used to just accept the status quo following with what is available.

I also have two years of experience in PETAL stack and two years in MERN stack, sadly because of the current situation, I can’t find anything, I am also thinking about switching back to MERN until I found my next opportunity in Elixir.

1 Like

Well the job market is bad for pretty much all the stacks right now. From what I hear from folks, some at least had interviews for Elixir based roles after getting hit with insta-auto-rejection at most other places.

1 Like

Yeah, it would be such a relief if most US companies would allow remote work and same goes for UK companies as their markets are pretty similar where UK’s one is a bit more open for EU workers. However that’s not the only problem we have …

1. The Asia market may be bigger than we expect, however they use their own services, so most people in EU/US is not aware how the market looks like for them. Also I would not expect that they are so open for just English speaking developers (if so their offers would be also on our platforms).