Extract Erlang record into Elixir

Hi,

I’m just starting out with Elixir, however I have used Erlang for about half a year so its not to hard to make the jump across.

However, I am having real trouble with using Erlang records in Elixir.

I have an existing hrl file in a dependency that has two records. I want to be able to extract them and then populate them for use elsewhere.

I am using the following syntax to try and extract them:

Record.defrecord :record_name, Record.extract(:record_name, from: "deps/mydependency/include/header_file.hrl")

However, when I try to compile this I get the following:

== Compilation error in file lib/otherdb.ex ==
** (ArgumentError) cannot invoke defmacro/2 inside function/macro
    (elixir) lib/kernel.ex:5187: Kernel.assert_no_function_scope/3
    (elixir) lib/kernel.ex:3952: Kernel.define/4
    (elixir) expanding macro: Kernel.defmacro/2
    lib/otherdb.ex:28: OHTERDB.defname/0
    (elixir) expanding macro: Record.defrecord/2
    lib/otherdb.ex:28: OHTERDB.defname/0

I’ve seen many other examples of people using this syntax, so I must be doing something wrong.
Any help on this would be appreciated.

1 Like

It looks like you are trying to make your defrecord call from inside of a function like:

def  somefunction() do
  Record.defrecord :record_name...
  …
end

The error says the defrecord call must be moved out of the function, presumably to the level of the module.

4 Likes

IIRC defrecord defines a record, it does not create an instance. Pretty much the same as -record(Name, {...}). in Erlang.

3 Likes

You are right, and Record.extract/2 extracts a keywordlist from a *.hrl, which can be used in Record.defrecord.

But it seems as if he were trying to extract a record from a dependency, so it should be :from_lib instead of :from.

Additionally what @easco said seems to be valid as well:

Proof:

iex(1)> defmodule M do              
...(1)>   require Record
...(1)>   def foo() do
...(1)>     Record.defrecord(:foo, [bar: 0])