Fallen at the first hurdle: [notice] TLS :client: In state :certify at ssl_handshake.erl:2082 generated CLIENT ALERT: Fatal - Unknown CA

Hello guys and gals.
I’m a developer who’s interested in giving elixir a try, primarily to learn a bit of functional programming and because I like some of the unique things I’ve heard about this language and the BEAM virtual machine.

I decided yesterday after work I would download it, get phoenix (which seems to be a popular and easy to pick up web framework) and make a hello world app that served me some basic page on the local host.

Unfortunately though I seem to have “Fallen at the first hurdle”. I did this:

• I used Mix to create a new project

• added this to list returned by the deps function the mix.exs file:
    {:phx_new, “~> 1.6”}

• ran “mix compile” from the command line which prompted me to run “mix deps.get” - so I did

-This didn’t work! I got this error:
[notice] TLS :client: In state :certify at ssl_handshake.erl:2082 generated CLIENT ALERT: Fatal - Unknown CA

Am I doing something wrong? Am I going about trying to add the package in the right way? I just don’t know. I’ve obviously googled it and other people have reported that error under different circumstances.

Assuming I’ve done the right thing to try and add the package, Is there anything I can do to fix my problem?

Thanks everyone,
Jim

1 Like

Hey @JimMarshall35 welcome! Can you show the guide you’re using? The official Phoenix installation guide is here Installation — Phoenix v1.6.11 and uses a different process than what you’re outlining here.

1 Like

Hi Ben - I should have said really, I did initially try that guide you linked to but was met with the same error message at the point where I ran “mix archive.install hex phx_new”

Can you show the output of

elixir -v

No problem. That’s:

Erlang/OTP 24 [erts-12.3.2.2] [source] [64-bit] [smp:12:12] [ds:12:12:10] [async-threads:1] [jit]

Elixir 1.13.4 (compiled with Erlang/OTP 22)