Fast string management

hello, I’m new to Elixir and I found it exceptional (I’m spreading the words among collegues)

I need to build a websocket based server, and I want to do it using Phoenix.

My question, I need to build a parser of commands over strings passed in and out, however I know that ElixirErlangBeam is not efficient as C to manage strings (copy, strip, delimited lists, search…). Guess I have to build a multi-party game server.
Avoiding to use NIFS, can you suggest me the most optimized way to do strings management eg. build a protocol?
Thank you
kind regards

Elixir may not be the absolute fastest, but it is very expressive when it comes to parsing and building protocols due the power of binary pattern matching. One good place to start is this blog post on using binary pattern matching to parse a PNG file.

2 Likes

What’s your exact use case? It might just turn out Elixir could be fast enough for you.

thanks for your answers

binary pattern matching can be used also for “set” or only to “get” values?

A simple case of string management I need, get and set, guess a very basilar pattern:

##CMD##one:two;three:four;five:six##CMD##
how to build a similar string from pieces and put it to socket send (concat() or +?)
how to retrieve and split a socket recv string into list from delimiters ( : ; )
so compare, pos, split to list giving delimiters, concat, uppercase, lowercase, utf8 encode decode etc.

thanks
btw. perhaps I shoud take a look into phoenix source in URI, querystring, contentfields management

:wave:

how to retrieve and split a socket recv string into list from delimiters ( : ; )

Check out GitHub - dashbitco/nimble_parsec: A simple and fast library for text-based parser combinators

This discussion might be interesting for you as well: How to properly parse a list of lines, with 'look-ahead' functionality?

how to build a similar string from pieces and put it to socket send (concat() or +?)

Read up on iolists in elixir and erlang: