Feedback required for my Elixir CLI Tool

Hello Community,
After reading a bunch of books and doing nothing :slight_smile: , I finally decided to write something and came up with this https://github.com/chattes/extract_poi.
This is a CLI that downloads POI Data(Points of Interests) of a Country and Stores as JSON in a FIle.
Its mostly follows a fire and forget pattern to extract the data from Triposo.
This was needed for work anyway and hence decided to write it in Elixir.

I would love some feedback/pointers etc regarding any glaring anti-patterns or mistakes!
I am not a beginner programmer, but have started to explore Elixir as my tool of choice for writing any scripts/side projects.

Thanks and would love some feedback here or as issues in Github.

Thanks!

1 Like

I have some style suggestions:

require PointOfInterest
  require Logger
  import IO.ANSI

Should be:

import IO.ANSI # As a general rule of thumb, avoid imports if you can. They pepper your code with _magic_ functions

alias PointOfInterest # You don't really need require, as PointOfInterest has no macros that need to be pre-compiled.

require Logger

Sources:

%{country: country, filename: filename}
|> PointOfInterest.get_pois_for_country()

Should be:

PointOfInterest.get_pois_for_country(
  %{country: country, filename: filename}
)

Source:

Instead of IO.puts, consider using Logger.info as it is easier to test and can be disabled per environment.

Base url should be an ENV variable, as this link is likely to change with time (and you don’t want to recompile every time it changes):

@base_url "https://www.triposo.com/api/20181213" should be:

@base_url Application.get_env(:poi_cli, :base_url)

You would have a config/config.exs with the following:

config :poi_cli, 
  base_url: "....someurl..."