Fibonacci sequence that turns off computer.

Recently I started learning elixir for fun and as I’m new to programming in general it is not going too well.
Yesterday I found on the internet an exercise that required me to summarize all Fibonacci numbers less than 4_000_000. I tried doing it like that:

defmodule Fibonacci do
  def fibonacci(number) do
    Enum.reverse(fibonacci_do(number))
  end

def fibonacci_do(1), do: [0]
  def fibonacci_do(2), do: [1 | fibonacci_do(1)]

def fibonacci_do(number) when number > 2 do
    [x, y | _] = all = fibonacci_do(number - 1)
    [x + y | all]
  end
end

defmodule Solve do
  def lineOfFi(limit) do
    fib_numbers = Fibonacci.fibonacci_do(limit)
    Enum.sum(Enum.filter(fib_numbers, &(&1 < limit and rem(&1, 2) == 0)))
  end
end

result = Solve.lineOfFi(4_000_000)
IO.puts(result)

The first part is code that I found on the internet (it was supposed to be fast), as calculating the sequence itself completely defeated me. Second part I based on a problem that I solved few days ago.
Unfortunately, this code contains a hidden bug or is so unoptimized that after 5 or 6 minutes of running, it crushes my computer.
I wonder what could be done to improve optimization of this code, that it will be possible to run it at all.

Welcome to Elixir community @Konbor704, the problem here is that this code is trying to calculate 4 million fibonacci numbers, NOT fibonacci numbers less than 4_000_000.
See this line:

fib_numbers = Fibonacci.fibonacci_do(limit)

So, your Elixir program is doing a long computation because Fibonacci numbers tend to grow very fast.

If you want to calculate fibonacci numbers, you can use the Stream and Enum modules, specifically look at Stream.unfold:

# This one-liner creates an infinite "list" of numbers from
# which you can extract as many numbers as you want.
# The elements will be calculated on-demand by calling
# the passed function
Stream.unfold({0, 1}, fn {a, b} -> {a, {b, a + b}} end)