First post: Noob question. Writing to a file can't be this difficult, right?

Hey Elixir Forum. This is my first time using Elixir for actual professional use, and not just messing around with it in my own free time.

So, basically I’m recursively going through an entire directory of sub-directories. I’m saving all of the file paths in those directories as a list. I take that list of files and parse the xml value I want out of them. I store this as a map of :filename => [xml-values]. It’s important I have the filename associated with the value. From here I want to write my map that I created to a file. I don’t really have a preference at this point because I’ve gotten very frustrated. I just need it human readable. JSON, CSV, text . . . doesn’t matter. How in the world can I the entire directory of xml values to a file while avoiding overwriting the file & while avoiding storing the XML values as binary? I’ve been trying IO.write & File.write in many many different variations.

Here is a bit of the code:

def read do
    files = list_all("/my/files/path/right/here/right/now")

for file <- files do
      doc = File.read!(file)

xml = doc |> xpath(~x"//MeshGeometry3D/@x:Key"l)

list_prefix = %{file => xml}
end

Thanks for any replies. This morning I felt confident I had this problem in the bag. Now I’m exhausted just looking at it.

(Lots of edits for clarification)

1 Like

You aren’t actually trying to write something. I’d suggest showing us some code where you try to write a file. Also I think it might be useful if you tell us which library you use for xml parsing.

1 Like

Ah, my mistake. I’m using SweetXML to parse the xml.

def write do
    myfile = read()
    File.write("/my/file/path/here/access_components", myfile)
  end