First time Elixir macro -- generate similar functions?

This is my first time I am looking at macros. I think I understand they are something like “pre generation” of code. Maybe something like using PHP templates to make Javascript code – they make Elixir code before it runs? OK this is maybe a bad example.

What I am trying to do is this: I have multiple functions that are almost all the same. Each one gets a thing from an API. Each one is the same, but each one returns a different struct. All of them look like this:

defmodule Thing1Resolver do
   def get_one(args) do
     data = get_from_api(args)
     struct(Thing1, args)
   end
end

The only difference is the module Thing1 is different for each function (Thing2, Thing3, Thing4). Can I write a macro to use and build functions like this? So maybe my resolver modules look like

use Shared, struct: Thing1
end

Is this possible? Maybe it is a bad idea. I want to understand how it works and then I can decide.

Thankyou

Why not just have a function that takes the type of struct? Something like

def get_generic(thing, args) do
  struct(thing, args)
end

Also note with this code you’re not using the API result for anything, and it’s essentially doing nothing, assuming there are no side effects from that API call.

2 Likes

You could adapt something like…

defmodule Demo do
  for x <- [1, 2, 3] do
    def unquote(String.to_atom("get_#{x}"))(), do: unquote(x)
  end
end

# then

iex> Demo.get_1
iex> Demo.get_2
iex> Demo.get_3

But it won’t work because You will have functions with same signature… You need to do a little bit more work, like pattern match in functions arguments.

BTW Your code won’t work for multiple reasons…

# There is no way to distinguish signature
   def get_one(args) do
     # You define data, but don't use it
     # get_from_api => side effect!
     # I suppose args should be data
     struct(Thing1, args)
   end

# As You see, distinction is only inside the function body.
  def get_one(args) do