Flask/Python Web Framework vs Elixir-Phoenix

Hello, I’m a hobbyist python developer and I’ve been using Flask in creating web API’s. I recently heard about the Phoenix Framework on Elixir and I’ve read that it’s built on top of Elixir which according to my research has good performance when it comes to speed and concurrency. I’ve been searching for some benchmarks but I don’t really trust them since I think they don’t really give justice when it comes to real world performance.

I would like to ask if any of you has experience with both Flask and Phoenix? What are the pros and cons? I’m doing a bit of research since I am about to build a project which expects more traffic than what I used to build and I’m considering building it with of Phoenix and Elixir. Thank you!

(I’ve already done some basic elixir and I’m looking to buy books/enroll in courses if I see it fit)

1 Like

IMO Phoenix is more like Django or Rails while Flask is more of a Sinatra for Ruby and you would be able to achieve this with plug and cowboy in Elixir.

5 Likes

Python is fast and is easy, but will never match the BEAM robustness to handle traffic at scale.

And don’t take my word for it, instead you should watch this video by @sasajuric:

The video will show you all the power of the BEAM, aka the power sitting below Elixir, and you will understand why you can build very robust applications when properly using the BEAM.