From $erverless to Elixir

Really interesting post trending from a tweet earlier today (as seen in another thread). Felt like this one deserved it’s own topic though.

And then the post that Jose asked him to write…

23 Likes

That sounds about right for a service I ran about 5 years ago. I was paying about $300/month for a dedicated server (32-core, 64 gigs ram, 1gigabit dedicated line almost always saturated, etc… etc…) and was wondering if I could do it cheaper and started looking into AWS and I came up to between $15000 - $20000 / month.

Ever since then I can’t comprehend why anyone would ever use such a service, it is practically trivial to set up your own servers if you have even an inkling of what you are doing (I may be biased, I’ve been running a multitude of my own servers for 2 decades now), even spread around the globe…

7 Likes

API Gateway is insanely expensive. There is almost no platform or architecture you could move to that wouldn’t save you a lot of money when you are running those kind of volumes. But still, good to see good press for Elixir.

1 Like

Serverless is great when your volume is low, and you have bursts of traffic. If you have sustained load you can definitely build a more performant app using serverful :slight_smile:

If you have an hour of activity every day with less than a 33000 requests, you end up with a million lambda requests which is free and even if you have double that traffic you’d still end up paying less using a serverless model.

3 Likes

AWS is useful for scaling. #1 you can get huge numbers of servers almost instantly if you need to scale up; #2 for loads with substantial peaks, which is a lot of internet services, you can actually save money over buying all that hardware, iff you do it right.