Function with many arguments design

Hey everyone!

This is my first time posting on here, and I’m getting started with writing some real Elixir code! I’m not new to programming, but I also wouldn’t call myself a programmer, more of a hobbyist since I do a lot more with systems and security.

Anyhay, I really like to learn coding design when I trying new languages, so when I create a function in a module, I want to do it the right way. In my code I’m writing right now, I am writing some functions in a module that will be accepting many arguments, and the majority of them are going to be optional with default values, or optional with nil and if it’s nil it will get tossed.

With that context, if I have a function with say, 10 arguments, how would you write that? My thought is to have it something like this:

def testfunc(
        arg1,
        arg2,
        arg3 \\ "default",
        arg4 \\ "default1",
        arg5 \\ nil
      ) do
    IO.puts("Hello")
  end

Is that acceptable in the Elixir world?

3 Likes

10 arguments is pretty unwieldy. What you’ll see more commonly is a data structure defined with defstruct that is used in the module. Maybe a couple of constructors, and then functions that accept other args and implement logic to add to the structure, and then functions that consume it.

The other pattern you will see is the options pattern - this is for when you have one-three args that are required and several optional arguments. You define the last argument as a Keyword list. Elixir has syntax sugar so you don’t have to wrap that in a list constructor.

5 Likes

Thank you! You’ve given me some stuff to look into. I’ll do some playing around and report back with what I think is the code design you’re talking about :slight_smile:

But for starters, you’re saying it’d be like:

defmodule MyModule do
  defstruct arg4: "default1", arg5: "default2"

def testfunct(
    arg1,
    arg2,
    arg3,
    [arg4: "user-value"]
  ) do
  IO.puts("Do something")
end