Gettext in a hex package

I am currently trying to add i18n support to the coherence package. Sadly I run into a small problem and need help.

Coherence has it’s own gettext module and because of that I have to set the current language not only in the gettext module of my app but also in coherence. Which is kinda sad, because changing the current locale in two places is problematic and leads to wrong locales when you forget that you have to do it twice. Totally sure that I miss an obvious fix for this, but I am new to elixir and this is my first time dealing with gettext.

1 Like

I don’t believe there is much you can do. The best is to encapsulate changing all gettext backends in a single function and make sure to invoke it.

@whatyouhide do you think there is something we can do from Gettext side to streamline this?

2 Likes

Are there no other packages out there that have text inside that have translations? Maybe in coherence I am “holding it wrong”?

1 Like

Yeah we don’t support setting the locale for multiple backends. I am not sure what we can do to streamline this, but would doing something like this:

defmodule MyApp.Translations do
  def put_locale(locale) when is_binary(locale) do
    Enum.each([Coherence.Gettext, MyApp.Gettext], &Gettext.put_locale(&1, locale))
  end
end

work?

1 Like

Yes, that works. But if this is the road to go for now, I will need to explain this to users of coherence and make them use it in a correct way. Which is kinda error prone. And I also have to do something to set the default_locale in the config.exs.

1 Like

Maybe there should be some kind of get global instance call that everything hooks in to by default (perhaps even namespaced based on the application name)? That’d still leave a way for specific instances as well but everything by default would share a global (potentially namespaced translations) instance?

2 Likes