Getting name error when attempting to create a new Mix project

Noob here with a likely stupid problem:

I’m currently working through Dave Thomas’s Programming Elixir 1.3, and am trying to code along with Ch. 18 - OTP: Supervisors. I created the chapter’s Mix project using $ mix new --sup sequence (as on p230 of the book). The standard directory was created. Then, as I looked through the source files, I realized that I had accidentally initialized the project using Elixir 1.4 (installed using the asdf version manager), and that – as discussed elsewhere in the forum – there had been some changes between 1.3 and 1.4 in the generated source code pertaining to supervisors. So, I moved up a directory, created a parallel one with a different name , entered it, used asdf to switch to Elixir 1.3.4 locally, and ran $ mix new --sup sequence in the new folder using 1.3. But, I got this error:

** (Mix) Application name must start with a letter and have only lowercase letters, numbers and underscore, got: "sequence". The application name is inferred from the path, if you'd like to explicitly name the application then use the "--app APP" option.

I did some looking around, and tried something different, in yet another newly created directory; I got the same issue back:

$ mix new seq13 --sup
** (Mix) Application name must start with a letter and have only lowercase letters, numbers and underscore, got: "seq13". The application name is inferred from the path, if you'd like to explicitly name the application then use the "--app APP" option.

I tried setting the Mix app name explicitly, but still no luck:

$ mix new seq13 --sup --app seq13
** (Mix) Application name must start with a letter and have only lowercase letters, numbers and underscore, got: "seq13"

What am I doing wrong? Did I need to do something else differently after my initial Mix project creation? Or am I making some other stupid beginner’s mistake?

$ mix new --sup sequence