Getting "no route found for POST" in a liveView form

Hey people.

I’m trying to make my way through this article

I’m not very experienced with Phoenix and LiveView I have to say. Just finding my way into the web topic. Anyway… Since this article is already some days old I need to change a lot to make it work with today’s phoenix. But I got stuck pretty early. The form to make a new room was based on ~L and I have to move it into the whole ~H world. This is the render/1 function I came up with:

@impl true
  def render(assigns) do
    ~H"""
    <h1>Create a New Room</h1>

<.form :let={f} for={@changeset} phx-change="validate" phx-submit="add_match_result">
      <.input field={{f, :title}} name="title" type="text" label="title" value={nil} />
      <.input field={{f, :slug}} name="slug" type="text" label="slug" value={nil} />
      <.button phx-disable-with="Saving...">Save</.button>
    </.form>
    """
  end

I thought it is pretty straight forward and I expected a callback to handle_event/3. But this is not happening. Instead I get an error inside my browser telling me

no route found for POST /room/new (LittlechatWeb.Router)

after I clicked the save button. As far as I understood liveView a POST request is the wrong thing to happen. But what is going wrong here?

This is the maybe important part of my router.ex if that helps:

scope "/room" do
    live "/new", LittlechatWeb.Room.NewLive, :new
    live "/:slug", LittlechatWeb.Room.ShowLive, :show
  end

Can we see the event handler for add_match_result? Are you sure it’s not being called?

Generally, if a POST request is being sent, Liveview has failed somehow. Have you checked your js console in-browser as well?

1 Like

Oh sorry, that code snippet was wrong (there was a leftover from some other try). that is actually my render/1 function. it’s the same as above, but with the right phx-submit string.

@impl true
  def render(assigns) do
    ~H"""
    <h1>Create a New Room</h1>