Getting things done with Elixir - tips?

I finished working thru “Programming Elixir 1.3”. It was theoretically interesting, but I’m left wondering how to use it to accomplish real world tasks.

I’ve been a developer for a long time. My background is in imperative procedural languages, focusing on back end apps that are highly DB, and moderately computationally, intensive.

Am I just overlooking the obvious?

1 Like

Programming Elixir teaches you the language - how you apply it is either down to you (based on your experience, perhaps specifically, in designing concurrent/parallel systems) or, based on what you learn next. Luckily, there’s a lot of material on the latter!

I have currently read/done:

And loved every single one of them (check out my reviews in their respective threads). Dave’s course shows you how to apply Elixir - and it is one of the best programming courses I have ever done!

There are other books and courses that show you how to ‘think’ in or get the most out of Elixir too, have a look through our Books and Courses sections :023:

7 Likes

You’re saying that you have imperative/procedural background. I can recommend reading this article on What’s Functional All About?.

My two cents: Not every problem should be solved in a functional way. Sometimes it is not convenient. But maybe we can locate the parts of the solution that need to store state, produce side-effects or do other non-functional stuff, isolate these parts and write functional code around them? If the answer is yes, then I’d say we can have much more readable, maintainable and testable code. And, often, more parallelizable.

To add to the resources @AstonJ mentioned, I’d like to suggest trying out Phoenix if you want to build a web thing, or Nerves if you want to build an embedded thing.

5 Likes