Guardian - How do you set up a secret key?

Please forgive the noob question, but I’m following tutorials and finding I’m getting an error in my config/config.exs related to the serializer line - as an undefined function.

Can someone please take me through the steps you use?
And can you show me how you do it for dev and production envs, which I’m still learning.

Thanks

Here’s my config/config.exs

config :guardian, Guardian,
  allowed_algos: ["HS512"], # optional
  verify_module: Guardian.JWT,  # optional
  issuer: "myapp",
  ttl: { 30, :days },
  verify_issuer: true, # optional
  serializer: myapp.GuardianSerializer,
  secret_key: to_string(Mix.env),
  hooks: GuardianDb,
  permissions: %{
    default: [
      :read_profile,
      :write_profile,
      :read_token,
      :revoke_token,
    ],
  }
1 Like

Remember what I said about adding as much info as possible @RisingFromAshes :wink:

• Which tutorials are you following? (Include links)
  • Paste the exact errors you are getting
  • Include as much info as possible for others to reproduce the problem

Also, when posting code use Markdown ticks to format it properly in your post (I’ve edited your post above - click the pencil icon to see the changes I made). As I mentioned in your other thread, you are more likely to get help if you take the time into writing out your post with thought (and consideration) :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sorry, I was in a rush (and I’m having a bad day), normally I try to give as much info as poss but I’ve been reading multiple tutorials.

Here’s 3 that I’ve looked at and tried to follow in part to try to set up Guardian:

Phoenix: simple authentication & authorization in step-by-step tutorial form

Elixir /Phoenix — Lets code authentication. Todo application part 3.

Authentication in Phoenix/Elixir app with Ueberauth and Guardian

Where I think I’m confused is - I set up config/config.exs as per my first post and get the following error after running:

mix phoenix.gen.secret