GUI programming in Elixir?

I’m completely new to Elixir and don’t know Ruby, either.

Is anyone writing GUI applications in Elixir? I don’t know the language and the easiest way for me to learn (not to mention the way I’d primarily be using any language right now) is for desktop applications with a GUI front end - ideally something that will work on both Mac and Linux. What are my choices and how well supported/ integrated are they? In case it matters, I’m specifically interested in writing a distributed business application connecting multiple machines over the internet. From that standpoint, Elixir seems like it might be a good fit. But I need to have a GUI interface and not just in a browser.

I tried to research this question first with a web search and then with a search on this site; I haven’t found any good answers so far.

3 Likes

Will the app be connected to a central server?

If so I would look at http://electron.atom.io for the GUI and then use Elixir on the back end/server. (@kofno has some experience with Electron. Hopefully he’ll spot this and add some thoughts.)

5 Likes

For a cross-platform desktop app Java would be my choice. If the Java client isn’t ready then you might investigate the possibility of channel integration by executing Phoenix.js through Nashorn.

JavaFX is really easy to work with and can deliver a great looking GUI.

1 Like

If you have web development experience, I would recommend Electron. It’s fairly easy to build and distribute a desktop application if you already have experience with web technologies. I wrote an app using Elm and distributed it as an Electron app.

elixir and a server and elm as a frontend is pretty popular right now. I’ve actually started working on something built that way (though I’m not sure if I’m going to use electron, or just the browser).

2 Likes