Guide to become a Elixir developer?

Hi, I’m a full-stack developer using JavaScript everywhere but I would like to stand out from the standard group of developers and master a few technologies better without touching everything. So I decide to go on the path of learning one technology and master the environment. I start hunting a well-recognized technology in the industry and end with Elixir so I’m here and Thank you.

And as a self-taught developer, I have wasted most of my time learning things I would near use in my life. It would be much helpful to me getting a guide from experts and move on that path.

So, here I come to my question. I would like to become an Elixir back-end developer, How should I start learning from and where to start to end?

Thank you!

Hi @Chawki , and welcome to the Elixir community!

I am the type of learner that likes to build foundations by reading a book on the topic cover to cover before jumping into the first project. If you are like me, you might find the titles from PragProg very useful, starting from “Programming Elixir” (and “Programming Phoenix” for web development), and then moving to other more specific titles depending on your taste and curiosity. I think these books do a great job in giving you all the necessary understanding of the Elixir virtues and specifics, and give you a good background on which to base your endeavors.

Other people might prefer a more hands-on approach right from the start: that is equally effective and largely depends on you. There are numerous tutorials or video courses, and I am sure people on this forum can advise on some :slight_smile:

1 Like

@lucaong thank you very much, I also have an idea of starting to read books on Elixir but I was a little confused about which books to read, But now I’m gonna try those books and thank you again.