Handling PubSub messages from within a LiveComponent?

Hello!

I have a LiveView that subscribes to a Phoenix.PubSub topic and shows some logs in real time. Now I want to move this part into a stateful LiveComponent, so that all logic regarding subscribing and reacting to messages in the topic lies within it.

But, I think this can’t be done - I can subscribe to the topic from within the LiveComponent, but it’s the parent LiveView process who is going to receive the messages, so I still need to have the handle_info logic in the parent LV process.

Is there something similar to phx-target="@myself" that can be used for PubSub like it’s done for events, so I can achieve this?

1 Like

The parent LV will always handle the messages, and then you can use those PubSub event handlers to pass the relevant changes to the child component(s).

2 Likes

Thanks, that’s what i thought… it would have been great to be have a LiveComponent that could be embedded into different LiveViews without needing them to know how to handle those messages!

1 Like

Hey folks, hi ! I reply to this topic as this is the issue that I have bumped into in a side project I am working on.

I have a website with some stateful components defined, like Navbar. Now, this component has a part which is rendered regardless any authentication state, and another one which is authentication dependent. This means that to an authenticated user a Logout button (among others) will be shown. Now, I have two options: I could potentially implement in the component the logout logic, or send a message to the parent which has to implement the logic, update the assigns, and by passing it to the Navbar component, update the page as a whole.