Help customizing an Ecto adapter

Hello friends,

I am new to Elixir, so I appeal for your patience; I am 52 years old and I have gone through languages like Basic, Cobol, a bit of C, xBase languages like DBase, Clipper, Foxpro, Delphi Object Pascal, C#, Javascript among others.

I have been following the Elixir language with great interest since its launch, I have seen it evolve and I have closely observed the growth of frameworks like Phoenix, although always as a spectator.

I tell you my story, a few weeks ago we were presented with the opportunity to do a project for a client, it is a module that complements existing software, said software uses “Firebird SQL” as a database, and knowing that there was an adapter For Ecto, we decided to explore, it is a great opportunity to take the first step towards Elixir and what better than “doing”

The adapter does not have the maturity that I would like, there are things that I could not do, such as using migrations, I thought it does not matter, we will create the tables by other means since there is already a mechanism in the other software to do it, we just take care that the nomenclature of fields and that the types we use are friendly to Ecto.

And now finally, the reason that brings me to this forum is a problem I have with the Firebird Adapter for Ecto that occurs when trying to obtain paginated query results.

It seems that the adapter is not as popular as I would like and that is why I bring my question to this forum, I am going to leave here the link to the issue I made in the GitHub repository:

https://github.com/nakagami/ecto_firebird/issues/3

Given that the author seems to have trouble solving this problem, and that I have been trying to solve it for a day and a half without success, I dare to extend it here.