Help for a simple queue wrapper

I need to implement a (simple) queue wrapper on the Erlan :queue, as Elixir does not have something similar :frowning_face: and this Erlang implementation of queue is not handy to use.
I warn that I have little experience with Elixir and fp in general, I am coming from the OOP world - classes, objects, this, self, closure etc.
I wrote this:

defmodule Fifo do
  def new do
    :queue.new()
  end

def in!(x, q) do
   :queue.in(x, q)
  end

def out!(q) do
    :queue.out(q)
  end
end

Result => disaster!

q = Fifo.new
{, } # As expected

Then:

Fifo.in!(3, q)
{[3], } # As expected as well

Then came the unexpected:

iex(26)> Fifo.in!(2, q)
{[2], } # Whoops! I expected {[2,3]}
iex(27)> Fifo.in!(“r”, q)
{[“r”], } # expected {[“r”,2,3]}

The disaster completes:

iex(28)> q
{, } #:sob::sob::sob: My queue q is empty!!

There’s clearly something wrong with my implementation, I needed some sort of closure; “this” does not exist in Elixir; the state is not recorded, my variable q is lost on the way.
Please… how to do this ? Help!

The code in your module is ok, but in Elixir data is immutable, each time you add or remove an item from the queue, a new queue is returned, so you have to rebind q to the result of Fifo.*

iex(2)> q = Fifo.new
{[], []}
iex(3)> q
{[], []}
iex(4)> q = Fifo.in!(2, q)
{[2], []}
iex(5)> q
{[2], []}
iex(6)> Fifo.in!("r", q)
{["r"], [2]}
iex(7)> q = Fifo.new
{[], []}
iex(8)> q = Fifo.in!(3, q)
{[3], []}
iex(9)> q = Fifo.in!(2, q)
{[2], [3]}
iex(10)> q = Fifo.in!("r", q)
{["r", 2], [3]}
iex(11)> q
{["r", 2], [3]}

Also bear in mind that erlang usually has the data in the last argument(common in many other functional languages, it is useful when using currying and partial function application), but in elixir it’s more common to have the data(in this case the queue) in the first argument, so you can leverage the pipe |> operator:

defmodule Fifo do
  def new do
    :queue.new()
  end

def in!(q, x) do
   :queue.in(x, q)
  end