Help: How to use AMQP channel from pool for publishing messages?

I set up a small process that maintains an AMQP connection/channel. This script automatically reconnects to RabbitMQ if the connection fails. I built this based on an old, depreciated and incomplete guide. I’m still a newbie, so I don’t fully understand how to use this. I know the script is connecting and reconnecting (as far as I know), but how do I actually use/fetch the channel?

For example, if I have a function in a different module, such as chatroom.ex, how do I fetch the existing channel in the pool so that I can publish messages to a queue?

def publish_function(chatmessage) do
   # Receive a chat room message here and publish it to "test_queue" in RabbitMQ. How do I use the existing connections?
   #something like:
  channel = ???? #channel in the consumer module?
  AMQP.Basic.publish(*channel*, "", "test_queue", chatmessage)

end

Here is what I have so far:

connectionmanager.ex:

defmodule ExchatWeb.AMQPConnectionManager do

use GenServer
  use AMQP

def start_link(_opts) do
    GenServer.start_link(__MODULE__, :ok, [name: __MODULE__])
  end

def init(:ok) do
    children = [
      ExchatWeb.Publish
    ]

Supervisor.start_link(children, strategy: :one_for_one, name: ExchatWeb.PublishSupervisor)
    establish_new_connection()
  end

defp establish_new_connection do
    case AMQP.Connection.open do
      {:ok, conn} ->
        Process.link conn.pid
        {:ok, {conn, %{}}}
      {:error, reason} ->
        IO.puts "failed for #{inspect reason}"
        :timer.sleep 5000
        establish_new_connection()
    end
  end

def request_channel(consumer) do
    GenServer.cast(__MODULE__, {:chan_request, consumer})
  end

def handle_cast({:chan_request, consumer}, {conn, channel_mappings}) do
    new_mapping = store_channel_mapping(conn, consumer, channel_mappings)
    channel = Map.get(new_mapping, consumer)
    consumer.channel_available(channel)
    {:noreply, {conn, new_mapping}}
  end